Raymond Mhlaba Local Municipality (EC129)

Raymond Mhlaba Local Municipality was established by the amalgamation of Nkonkobe Local Municipality and Nxuba Local Municipality on 3 August 2016. Financial, Employment and Service Delivery information is not yet available for the new municipality. View historical information for Nkonkobe Local Municipality and Nxuba Local Municipality.


    Contact Details

    Postal: PO Box 36, Fort Beaufort, 5720
    Physical: 8 Somerset Road, Fort Beaufort
    Tel: 046 645 7400
    Fax: 046 645 2562

    Resident Queries

    Geography, History and Economy

    Area: 6 357km²
    Description: The Raymond Mhlaba Local Municipality is a Category B municipality situated in the Winterland of the Eastern Cape under the jurisdiction of the Amathole District. It is approximately 200km from Port Elizabeth.
     It is the largest municipality of the six in the district, making up a third of its geographical area. Raymond Mhlaba was established by the amalgamation of the Nkonkobe and Nxuba Local Municipalities in August 2016.
     It is a countryside municipality that includes the imposing and majestic mountain range of the Winterberg (IiNtabazeNkonkobe). The rural hinterland forms part of the municipal area. Most of the farming activities take place in the rural areas, which consist of partly-owned farms, and this plays a major role in the economic growth of the area.

    Cities/Towns: Adelaide, Alice, Bedford, Fort Beaufort, Hogsback, Middeldrift, Seymore
    Main Economic Sectors: General government services; wholesale and retail trade; community, social and personal services; finance and insurance; business services; construction; manufacturing
  • MAP


    Political Management

    Composition of Council: ANC 37, DA 5, EFF 3
    Controlling Party: ANC
    Mayor: B Ketelo
    Other Members of Council: M J Makeleni (Finance), L Bruintjies (Corporate Services), N Geza (Engineering), P Sabane (LED and Strategic Planning), P Jack (Community Services), S Kley (Sport, Arts and Culture)

    Administrative Management

    Municipal Manager: Lusanda Menze (Acting)
    Chief Financial Officer: Busisiwe Lubhelwana
    Communications Officer: Siyasanga Hompashe
    LED Officer: Ndodekhaya Makana
    Other Senior Management: Ncumisa Fololo (Corporate Services), Zwelethemba Nkosinkulu (Engineering Services), M J Lethoba (Acting: Community Services)
    Population 159 515151 379
    Age Structure
    Population under 15 29.2%29.0%
    Population 15 to 64 65.3%61.9%
    Population over 65 5.6%9.1%
    Dependency Ratio
    Per 100 (15-64) 53.261.5
    Sex Ratio
    Males per 100 females 92.992.7
    Population Growth
    Per annum 1.19%n/a
    Labour Market
    Unemployment rate (official) n/an/a
    Youth unemployment rate (official) 15-34 n/an/a
    Education (aged 20 +)
    No schooling 3.9%6.6%
    Matric 26.0%15.7%
    Higher education 5.9%6.4%
    Household Dynamics
    Households 41 02242 065
    Average household size 3.93.4
    Female headed households 47.9%48.8%
    Formal dwellings 74.5%73.6%
    Housing owned 64.0%56.5%
    Household Services
    Flush toilet connected to sewerage 41.7%35.4%
    Weekly refuse removal 29.2%31.1%
    Piped water inside dwelling 23.5%23.8%
    Electricity for lighting 96.5%89.0%

    Note: For information on methodology, sources and definitions please see Sources.

The information in this directory is supplied and/or externally sourced and is also subject to continual change. If you notice any errors or omissions, please contact us at info@municipalities.co.za so that we can correct them.