Lim 368 Local Municipality (LIM368)

Lim 368 Local Municipality was established by the amalgamation of Mookgophong Local Municipality and Modimolle Local Municipality on 3 August 2016. Financial, Employment and Service Delivery information is not yet available for the new municipality. View historical information for Mookgophong Local Municipality and Modimolle Local Municipality.


    Contact Details

    Postal: X1008, Modimolle, 0510
    Physical: OR Tambo Square, Harry Gwala Street, Modimolle
    Tel: 014 718 2000
    Fax: 014 717 4077

    Resident Queries

    Geography, History and Economy

    Area: 10 367km²
    Description: The Lim 368 Local Municipality is a Category B municipality situated within the Waterberg District in the Limpopo Province. It is one of five municipalities in the district. It was established by the amalgamation of the Mookgophong and Modimolle Local Municipalities in August 2016.
     The municipality occupies a strategic position from the main markets of the country by being at the south entrance of the province. It enjoys easy access from the main national arteries, the N1 and R101. The visibility of Modimolle Mountain from the N1 north is inviting to curious tourists visiting the area.
     The municipality is home to Nylsvlei Nature Reserve, which has Ramsar status, and the world-renowned Waterberg Biosphere Reserve. The municipal area has mild winters and warm summers, with an average annual rainfall of 520mm to 650mm.

    Cities/Towns: Modimolle, Mookgophong (Naboomspruit), Vaalwater
    Main Economic Sectors: Business services, agriculture, government services, community services
  • MAP


    Political Management

    Composition of Council: ANC 13, DA 7, EFF 6, VF PLUS 2
    Controlling Party: DA Minority Government
    Mayor: Mrs Marlene van Staden
    Other Members of Council: Johann Abrie (Speaker), Dingaan Motshwene (Chief Whip)

    Administrative Management

    Municipal Manager: Mr O P Sebola
    Chief Financial Officer: Mr Dewald Eksteen
    Communications Officer: Mr M P Shika
    LED Officer: Mr Zacharia Namate
    Population 107 699104 153
    Age Structure
    Population under 15 35.2%29.1%
    Population 15 to 64 59.6%65.1%
    Population over 65 5.2%5.9%
    Dependency Ratio
    Per 100 (15-64) 67.753.7
    Sex Ratio
    Males per 100 females 102.0103.7
    Population Growth
    Per annum 0.76%n/a
    Labour Market
    Unemployment rate (official) n/an/a
    Youth unemployment rate (official) 15-34 n/an/a
    Education (aged 20 +)
    No schooling 6.4%10.9%
    Matric 27.5%22.3%
    Higher education 7.5%7.7%
    Household Dynamics
    Households 28 97727 439
    Average household size 3.73.4
    Female headed households 42.5%38.6%
    Formal dwellings 85.6%88.1%
    Housing owned 73.1%51.2%
    Household Services
    Flush toilet connected to sewerage 67.9%64.4%
    Weekly refuse removal 67.0%69.9%
    Piped water inside dwelling 32.2%37.8%
    Electricity for lighting 87.1%84.1%

    Note: For information on methodology, sources and definitions please see Sources.

The information in this directory is supplied and/or externally sourced and is also subject to continual change. If you notice any errors or omissions, please contact us at so that we can correct them.