Enoch Mgijima Local Municipality (EC139)

Enoch Mgijima Local Municipality was established by the amalgamation of Tsolwana Local Municipality, Inkwanca Local Municipality and Lukhanji Local Municipality on 3 August 2016. Financial, Employment and Service Delivery information is not yet available for the new municipality. View historical information for Tsolwana Local Municipality, Inkwanca Local Municipality and Lukhanji Local Municipality.


    Contact Details

    Postal: 70 Cathcart Road, Town Hall, Queenstown, 5320
    Physical: 70 Cathcart Road, Town Hall, Queenstown
    Tel: 045 807 2606
    Fax: 045 807 2637
    Web: www.lukhanji.co.za

    Resident Queries

    Geography, History and Economy

    Area: 13 584km²
    Description: The Enoch Mgijima Local Municipality is a Category B municipality situated within the Chris Hani District in the central part of the Eastern Cape Province. It is the largest of the six municipalities in the district, making up over a third of its geographical area.
     It was established by the amalgamation of the Tsolwana, Inkwanca and Lukhanji Local Municipalities in August 2016. The area has a rich historical background dating back to the 18th century, with a number of monuments and key places of interest.
     The Enoch Mgijima municipal area is an economic hub, due to its strategic position in the middle of the national corridors to the Gauteng, Western Cape, KwaZulu-Natal, Northern Cape and Free State Provinces. Parts of the municipality are developed with the relevant infrastructure so that modes of transport such as railway, road and a small airport are available to be utilised. Other parts of the region are experiencing a low economic growth rate, with high levels of unemployment and poverty in the towns.  

    Cities/Towns: Hofmeyr, Molteno, Queenstown, Sada, Sterkstroom, Tarkastad, Whittlesea
    Main Economic Sectors: Agriculture, general government services, finance and business, wholesale, retail and catering, community services
  • MAP


    Political Management

    Composition of Council: ANC 50, DA 9, EFF 6, COPE 1, UDM 1, UFEC 1
    Controlling Party: ANC
    Mayor: Ms Lindiwe Gunuza
    Other Members of Council: Mzoxolo Peter (Speaker), Funeka Sybil Sopapaza-Lungisa (Chief Whip), Thembeka Bunu (SPU Portfolio Head), Adele Natacia (Public Safety Portfolio Head), Elizabeth Mqingwana (Human Settlement and Land Portfolio Head), Xoliswa Xelo (IPED Portfolio Head), Sibusiso Eric Mvana (Technical Services Portfolio Head), Madoda Papiyana (Finance Portfolio Head), Marina Bennet (MPAC Chairperson)

    Administrative Management

    Municipal Manager: Mr Siyabonga Nkonki (Acting)
    Chief Financial Officer: Mrs Nomthandazo Ntshanga
    Communications Officer: Mr Fundile Feketshane
    LED Officer: Mr Nkosi Mzileni
    Other Senior Management: Mr D Van Wyk (SEO), Mr S Nkonki (Corporate Services), Mr Mountain Sqaza (Legal Matters), Mr M Nofemela (Technical Services), Mr L Sondlo (Public Safety), Mr S Dayi (IPED), Mr Z Nxano (HSLD), Mr Dingani (Community Services)
    Population 267 011250 776
    Age Structure
    Population under 15 35.7%31.0%
    Population 15 to 64 59.3%61.8%
    Population over 65 5.0%7.2%
    Dependency Ratio
    Per 100 (15-64) 68.761.7
    Sex Ratio
    Males per 100 females 90.490.6
    Population Growth
    Per annum 1.43%n/a
    Labour Market
    Unemployment rate (official) n/an/a
    Youth unemployment rate (official) 15-34 n/an/a
    Education (aged 20 +)
    No schooling 8.4%9.5%
    Matric 26.7%20.0%
    Higher education 9.5%9.7%
    Household Dynamics
    Households 65 14668 354
    Average household size 4.13.5
    Female headed households 48.2%48.4%
    Formal dwellings 85.7%87.7%
    Housing owned 56.3%60.4%
    Household Services
    Flush toilet connected to sewerage 57.5%58.9%
    Weekly refuse removal 49.8%54.4%
    Piped water inside dwelling 40.4%42.4%
    Electricity for lighting 92.4%88.7%

    Note: For information on methodology, sources and definitions please see Sources.

    All values: R'0002016/17
    Property rates4 832
    Service charges168 895
    Investment revenue3 237
    Transfers recognised - operational143 339
    Other own revenue27 688
    Total Revenue (excluding capital transfers and contributions)347 991
    Employee costs154 357
    Remuneration of councillors20 828
    Depreciation & asset impairment-
    Finance charges16
    Materials and bulk purchases111 858
    Transfers and grants13 870
    Other expenditure69 618
    Total Expenditure370 547
    Surplus/(Deficit)(22 556)
    Transfers recognised - capital27 397
    Contributions recognised - capital & contributed assets-
    Surplus/(Deficit) after capital transfers & contributions4 841
    Share of surplus/(deficit) of associate-
    Surplus/(Deficit) for the year4 841
    Capital expenditure68 512
    Transfers recognised - capital34 238
    Public contributions & donations-
    Internally generated funds34 274
    Total sources of capital funds68 512
    Total current assets319 912
    Total non current assets1 512 104
    Total current liabilities120 066
    Total non current liabilities15 929
    Community wealth/Equity1 711 949
    Net cash from (used) operating70 800
    Net cash from (used) investing(53 440)
    Net cash from (used) financing-
    Cash/cash equivalents at the year end17 360
    Unauthorised expendituren/a
    Irregular expendituren/a
    Fruitless & wasteful expendituren/a
    SOURCES71 Unaudited

    Note: For information on methodology, sources and definitions please see Sources.

The information in this directory is supplied and/or externally sourced and is also subject to continual change. If you notice any errors or omissions, please contact us at info@municipalities.co.za so that we can correct them.